Chile.—The first Canadian Minister to Chile was the Hon. W. F. A. Turgeon, who presented his Letter of Credence on Jan. 2, 1942. He was succeeded on Nov. 4, 1942, as Minister by Mr. Warwick Chipman, K.C., who presented his Letter of Credence as Ambassador on July 8, 1944. The Canadian Embassy is at Santiago.

Mexico.—The first Canadian Ambassador to Mexico was the Hon. W. F. A. Turgeon, who presented his Letter of Credence on Apr. 27, 1944. He has been succeeded by Dr. H. L. Keenleyside, who presented his Letter of Credence on Feb. 15, 1945.

Peru.—Dr. Henry Laureys presented his Letter of Credence as the first Canadian Ambassador to Peru on Oct. 21, 1944.

France.—After the formation of the French Committee of National Liberation in Algiers, Major-General George P. Vanier, who had been Canadian Representative to the Committee in London, was appointed at Algiers in a similar capacity, with the personal rank of Ambassador. General Vanier is now accredited to the President of the Provisional Government of the French Republic as Canadian Ambassador in France, and presented his Letter of Credence on Dec. 20, 1944.

Greenland.—The Canadian Consulate at Greenland is in charge of Mr. Trevor Lloyd as Vice Consul and Acting Consul.

## PART V.—REPRESENTATIVES OF OTHER COUNTRIES IN CANADA

## Section 1.—Representatives of the Governments of the British Commonwealth of Nations

High Commissioner for the United Kingdom: (Office established 1928.)
The present High Commissioner is the Rt. Hon. Malcolm MacDonald,
M.P., who assumed office in 1941. The previous High Commissioners were:—

SIR WILLIAM H. CLARK, 1928-34

Sir Francis Floud, 1935-38 Sir Gerald Campbell, 1938-41

Address: Earnscliffe, Ottawa.

High Commissioner for the Commonwealth of Australia: (Office established 1939.)

The first High Commissioner was Major-General the Hon. Sir William Glasgow, K.C.B., who assumed office in 1940. He has been succeeded by Mr. Alfred Stirling.

Address: 114 Wellington St., Ottawa.

High Commissioner for New Zealand: (Office established 1942.)

The present High Commissioner is the Hon. David Wilson, who assumed office in 1944.

Address: 105 Wurtemburg Street, Ottawa.

Accredited Representative of the Union of South Africa: (Office established 1938.)

The first Accredited Representative was Mr. David de Waal Meyer, who assumed office in 1938. Pending the appointment of a successor, Mr. Robert Jones is Acting Accredited Representative.

Address: 56 Sparks Street, Ottawa.